The Challenges of Portraying Autistic Spectrum Disorders


If you love television, you may (or may not) like what I am about to say in this post. It’s funny how many of these television shows that depict people with disabilities have this way of making the average viewer think that the things they see on television are accurate and true. When they encounter a person or situation in life which reminds them of a certain television show, they utter some variation of the following phrase.

“Wow! This is just like what I saw on __________!”

For the record, I actually enjoy a lot of those crime and hospital dramas. I have to admit that the actors are good at making it look real to the average person. They also raise awareness about the emotional impact that such devastating circumstances can have on people. However, I watched a few episodes of Grey’s Anatomy that I thought were horribly misrepresented of Asperger’s Syndrome. It was the three episodes from Season 5. Mary McDonnell played Dr. Virginia Dixon, a surgeon who happened to be diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome. From her very first scene in “These Ties That Bind”, I could tell that her character was going to be a walking stereotype. She never looked the other doctors in the eye, then started to name useless facts about the history of a piggy back transplant. She was also a stickler for “scientific” medical terms, which is very childish in and of itself.

Hetero-topic transplant! Piggyback is a colloquial name for the procedure!

Don’t do that!

(whispers) Don’t do that!

It is very common for movies and television shows to portray people on the spectrum as intelligent, but socially inept. The next several scenes made that incredibly clear. Dr. Dixon took unapologetic, blunt and socially inept to a whole new level. I am going to briefly describe several scenes where she did just that! The first example was an interaction with patient Clay Bedonie. Six years prior, he underwent a piggyback transplant. The patient wanted his donor heart back because he felt “haunted” by the new one.

Dr. Dixon:

Clay Bedonie, are you aware that without the donor heart, you will live a short life attached to a machine while dying a sudden and agonizing death?

This particular scene was nothing compared to the others I am going to discuss. Dr. Dixon refused to acknowledge or respect the patient’s religious and spiritual beliefs. (Clay Bedonie was a Navajo!) She stated several times that she only puts faith in science. Please, tell me I am not the only person who believes that this would be a very unprofessional example for anyone who desires to pursue a medical career. Simply put, there is a time and a place where it is acceptable to debate religious or spiritual beliefs. I do not have a medical degree, but I am old enough to know that interacting with a patient in any healthcare profession is not the time or the place!

The next episode featuring Dr. Dixon showed what can happen when a “clueless aspie” fails to show respect and understanding for the patient’s family when they face the devastating news that their loved one has died.

Patient Holly Anderson was involved in a car accident with Emma, her sister. Upon arriving at the hospital, the two bickered because Holly was texting while driving her father’s car. Dr. Alex Karev noticed that her eyes started to turn a strange red color as a result of brain matter leaking through her nose. She was then admitted into an operating room. “Good! Take her away! I hope she dies!” Emma yelled this as they rushed her away. Holly died on the operating table of a carotid dissection. Dr. Dixon made the typical aspie mistake of standing up in front of the family and going into graphic detail about the failed procedure. I transcribed this incredibly awkward scene here.

Dr. Dixon: I’m very sorry for your loss, but tests confirm that although your sister’s bodily functions are fine, her brain is dead. She has no thoughts, no emotions, no senses. I’m Dr. Dixon, I will be harvesting your sister’s organs, if your parents agree.

Mr. Anderson: Please, she’s our baby. We need more time.

Dr. Dixon: I’m very sorry for your loss, but her organs are young and vital. They could save many lives.

(Emma wheels over to Holly and begs for her to wake up.)

Dr. Dixon: I’m very sorry for your loss, but your sister can’t wake up. Her basic functions are gone. Her brain is dead. Her body is alive, but unfortunately, unfortunately, she is dead.

(Emma angrily demands for Dr. Dixon to leave. Meredith then politely asks her to leave the room.)

I cannot imagine what it would feel like to see my loved one dying on a hospital bed after a tragic accident. Combine the shear devastation with the added aggravation of having to deal with a socially inept doctor who is overwhelming me with the details about why my loved one is brain-dead. If I were in this situation, I can only hope that I would not end up smacking her right in the face! Believe it or not, those of us with Asperger’s Syndrome are more than capable of recognizing, understanding and expressing human emotions. It is part of learning these things the neurotypical calls “social skills.” Like riding a bike or playing the piano, it takes practice to master.

I look back on these scenes and I realize one thing. Most intelligent people know that this is not an authentic portrayal of Asperger’s Syndrome! (They know that Autism is a neurological disorder, not a disease like Tuberculosis or AIDS. Amount and severity of symptoms varies in each person.) It shows stereotypical resemblance to classic Autism combined with the physical ability to communicate verbally. I don’t expect others to use the same words and terms that I am accustomed to using. I don’t throw temper tantrums after being hugged by someone who I don’t particularly have the interest sharing such a personal interaction with. I am able to understand when a certain time or place is not appropriate for debate about beliefs and opinions. Furthermore, I do have feelings and emotions. I just communicate them in ways that are only somewhat different from everyone else.

I have yet to see one portrayal that does not put such strong emphasis on stereotypical symptoms and mannerisms, and that does allow the individual to reach their full potential. This is just one thing that will change people’s perceptions about Autistic Spectrum Disorders and about disability in general.

5 thoughts on “The Challenges of Portraying Autistic Spectrum Disorders

  1. Hi Derek,

    I stumbled upon your blog today and I’ve enjoyed reading your posts; you have an engaging writing style. I’m quite familiar with the stereotypical portrayals of Asperger’s in the media (I recently watched “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” and that seemed to follow a similar blueprint to the “Grey’s Anatomy” character you mentioned). Actually, I’m currently writing a novel wherein one of the key characters displays Asperger’s-like qualities (although he is never labelled as such considering that it’s a fantasy story). I’ve really been trying to do my research, and I’ve found that personal blogs are one of the most informative resources.

    So, what I would like to know is this: What characteristics of Aspies would you like to see portrayed in fiction? I’ve read a lot of articles about common misconceptions and myths, but are there any specific things you really wish people would understand?

    • Hi Malcom,

      I appreciate your commentary! I could honestly go on and on about things that I wish writers and actors would understand about Autism/Asperger’s. However, the one thing I want to see in portrayals of Asperger’s Syndrome is a realization and acknowledgement of the fact that uniqueness does not automatically mean you are a “hero.” Sure, I can write well. Sure, some Aspie kids are incredibly gifted in music, the arts, mathematics, science and engineering. Walking around with such a mindset is only going to make people think that you are a jerk with a tremendous ego. (This mindset is not restricted to people on the spectrum. There are many people who use their uniqueness as a way to skate through life and manipulate, disrespect and harm people.)

      How you embrace, express and use that uniqueness, however, can make them a hero if you find something that can make a successful career out of the skill, talent or subject area they are passionate about. Speaking of passions, I want also want to see portrayals that understand the difference between ultimate goals and realistic goals. I want to publish a memoir, but I will not be able to live independently and sustain myself if I do not find a job and prepare myself for a career as a technical writer or a different writing profession. Without doing those things, that goal is just a dream. Sometimes, we have to do things that we don’t want to do. These are only stepping stones to creating the life we truly want to live!

      I hope this helps you! If you need any other answers, you can email me at warrenderek91@hotmail.com.

  2. Yes, that certainly helps! Thank you for your insight. Your comments about uniqueness make sense; perhaps viewing everyone who has Asperger’s as “superheroes” can create unrealistic expectations and cause further alienation. It seems that the distinction between ultimate goals and realistic goals is one we must all come to terms with, unfortunately. It’s especially true for me, at least! I will be sure to contact you if I have any further questions. Thanks again. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Important Lessons about Asperger’s/Autism Portrayals | Dwarren57's Blog

Leave Me A Comment!

